MCA eBusiness Award for Best Tech Start-Up. NOMINATIONS CLOSED

The MCA eBusiness Awards are singled out as a unique annual event of its kind in Malta as it acknowledges the use of technology in the entrepreneurial efforts of individuals and organizations. For this year’s edition, the MCA is pleased to announce that a new Award is being introduced to recognise the Malta-based technology start-up with the highest potential for growth. The Award for the Best Tech Start-Up will contribute to the MCA’s focus on innovation and start-up development in the areas of ICT, eCommerce and Communications. Ultimately, the Award will spur the development of high-growth digital businesses in Malta. 

Nominations and Eligibility

The MCA will receive nominations for this Award until noon on 18th January, 2016. Interested parties are to submit nominations using the Award Nomination Form.

Applications for the Award must be from digital businesses operating from Malta, and the following eligibility criteria need to be satisfied.

  • The business needs to be ‘independently owned’. This is to be understood as a business which: 
ois substantially owned by its founders and/or a group of independent investors; 
ois not quoted on any stock market; and
ois not a subsidiary or associated company of another business.
  • The business operates from Malta but targets international markets.
Submissions and Evaluation
Applicants should submit a completed nomination forms as PDF files via email to Submissions should be received no later than noon on 18th January 2016. The application form file should be named MCABTS_CompanyName.pdf. 
The submissions received will be evaluated and scored by a judging panel that may include successful entrepreneurs, technical experts, technology commercialisation professionals and investors. The panel will evaluate the nominations in line with predefined judging criteria concerning:
  • the unique selling proposition (USP) of the product or service offered; 
  • the market and growth potential of the start-up;
  • the team’s capability to execute the business strategy;
  • the extent of leveraging ICTs in achieving the business’ USP; and
  • the quality of the written application and the oral presentation.
The panel will rank all applications and determine the three (3) finalists and Award winner. All three (3) finalists will be invited to the MCA eBusiness Awards Event, to be held on the March 2nd, 2016. The Award winner will be announced on the night. 
Disclaimer: The Management Committee shall take reasonable precautions to treat written submissions and presentations as confidential, with the exception of the non-confidential description of the Business/Technology provided in the written application. However, it is the duty of the applicant to ensure that the intellectual property being presented is sufficiently protected and/or not prejudiced by entry into this competition.
Each applicant shall hold harmless the MCA and members of the Judging Panel from any claims relating to the applicant’s participation in this competition. 

For further information about the eBusiness Awards or the Best Tech Start-Up Award, contact the MCA on the contacts provided hereunder.

Malta Communications Authority
Valletta Waterfront,
Pinto Wharf,
Floriana. FRN 1913.
T: 2133 6840