The MCA welcomes nominations for the eBusiness Awards 2017

The MCA eBusiness Awards is now a well-established, annual event, unique in its kind because it is the only event locally that acknowledges the effective integration of ICT applications in the entrepreneurial efforts of individuals and organizations. The MCA is pleased to announce that the nomination period for the 7th edition of the MCA eBusiness Awards is now open.

These awards have for the past seven years showcased some of the best solutions, developed by locally-based ICT organizations which, amongst other attributes combine creativity, information technology, as well as business or social innovation. In doing so, such an event has provided a platform for increased visibility to participants, and an excellent means to credit the efforts and unique talents demonstrated by all those involved in the rollout of such innovative business initiatives.

The MCA strives to ensure that the award categories reflect market realities and direct feedback from the sector. Following this process, the MCA is pleased to announce the following categories for this years’ edition:

  1. Best App;
  2. Best B2B Application;
  3. Best eCommerce Site (B2C);
  4. Best eGovernment Initiative;
  5. Best ICT Academic Project with an eBusiness Theme;
  6. Best Tech Start Up;
  7. Best Social Media Campaign (50% people’s choice);
  8. Best Use of Technology in Business Transformation.

Once again, the Best Social Media Campaign category, will be open to a public vote. Due to the very nature of this category and the level of public engagement throughout the process, the public will be invited to vote for their preferred campaign after an adjudication panel selects the top 3 finalists from all the nominations received.


Those submitting a nomination for the MCA eBusiness Awards, may potentially also be selected to participate in the prestigious World Summit Awards, which are held under the auspices of the United Nations.


The MCA is also pleased to announce that the seventh edition of the awards is being endorsed by Mr Vint Cerf, who is widely considered as one of the fathers of the internet. Mr Cerf shall be addressing the audience through a recorded message, during the event that will be held in the first quarter of next year.


Applications to participate in the MCA eBusiness Awards are open to any organisation that has, to some degree, integrated ICT as part of its operational setup. Interested parties are invited to submit their nomination by no later than Friday, 17th  November 2017, after which, an independent adjudication committee, comprising experts from academia and the private industry, will jointly evaluate, short-list and select a winner for each category.


Interested parties may submit their nominations by completing a simple online application, which can be accessed via


For further information about this year’s MCA eBusiness Awards, kindly contact the MCA by email on or on +356 21336840.


Please click here to view Press Release in Maltese.